Proof #21: Understand Jesus’ Core Message

January 5, 2008 at 7:41 am 7 comments

UPDATED: Check the latest version of this proof here.

Marshall Brain writes only a short piece that profoundly misunderstands Jesus’ message. Here is Brain’s summary:

Hello, my name is Jesus. I love you deeply. I have loved you since you were conceived in the womb and I will love you for all eternity. I died for you on the cross because I love you so much. I long to have a loving personal relationship with you. I will answer all of your prayers through my love. But if you do not get down on your knees and worship me, and if you do not EAT MY BODY and DRINK MY BLOOD, then I WILL INCINERATE YOU WITH UNIMAGINABLY TORTUOUS PAIN IN THE FIRES OF HELL FOR ALL ETERNITY BWAH HA HA HA HA HA!

Of course, this isn’t the gospel at all. This is Brain’s argument by outrage. He doesn’t understand how a loving God could send people to hell for eternity, or even why God expects worship. So let’s tackle both objections.

First, Brain assumes that God is sending people to hell for not worshiping Him. God is sending people to hell for a multitude of sins, not for simply not worshiping Him. After all, the biblical definition of worship is obedience (cf. 1 Jn 5:3).

But the problem is that no one has obeyed (cf. Ps 14:1-3; Rom 3:23; Eph 2:1-3). So we disobedient children deserve death (Rom 6:23). But God has a different plan (Jn 3:16): that we who deserve death are given life through Christ Jesus (Jn 3:17).

That’s the gospel in a nutshell.

As for objecting to worshiping God, I think that that is more revealing of Brain’s motive behind this unfortunate pair of websites than any other statements that have so far appeared. The biblical definition of worship is obedience. If Brain is objecting to worshiping God, he is advocating disobedience to God’s decrees. This means that Brain wants to live any sort of life he chooses rather than yielding his life to the Creator.

This absurd summary only proves that Brain wants nothing to do with God, not that God is imaginary.

Entry filed under: God, Jesus, Prayer, Worship.

Proof #20: Notice Your Church Proof #22: Count all the People God wants to Murder

7 Comments

  • 1. Luke  |  June 14, 2008 at 11:50 am

    This absurd summary only proves that Brain wants nothing to do with God, not that God is imaginary.
    You can’t have nothing to do with a God that doesn’t exist. Just like you can’t really be an atheist; How can you not believe in something that doesn’t exist? lol. All Gods are imaginary, and the God people choose to believe in is the one with the most seemingly convincing cover story, or the God that they are exposed to at birth by their parents or their national religion. That’s Genetic Fallacy. And Speaking of Genetic fallacy:

    Emperor Constantine is the one who legalized Christian worship in 313 AD and made everything all better with the Edict of Milan that removed all obstacles to the Christian faith. Before that, Christians were persecuted for hundreds of years in horrible ways. It of course naturally grew from there to what it is today.

    Though Emperor Constantine had been exposed to Christianity by his mother, Helena, there is scholarly controversy as to whether he adopted his mother’s Christianity in his youth, or whether he adopted it gradually over the course of his life. Constantine was over 40 when he finally declared himself a Christian. That’s Genetic Fallacy at it’s core. If not for his mother, Constantine could have probably cared less about Christians and their persecutions, and may have never had a motive to legalize it. So thank Constantine, because without him, Christianity would have been persecuted into obscurity like paganism and the other religions. Don’t count on God for it, either. It’s just coincidence, and there’s evidence of it being just that. After all, Constantine had free will.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Constantine_I_and_Christianity

  • 2. White  |  July 1, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    -Hohoho. I don’t believe you too Luke. I dunno maybe becos… you don’t exist??

    -I asked God to bless my exams today and i scored an A. Its just coincidence hohoho. I asked God for a sign that he loves me and i heard the most touching Christian song of my live. but its just coincidence hohoho. I bumped into a friend and broke my arm but suddenly i cursed God for letting it happen !@#$%

  • 3. luke  |  July 8, 2008 at 11:25 am

    I don’t believe you too Luke. I dunno maybe becos… you don’t exist??
    –What kind of point are you even trying to make with this? Please make your arguments more intelligible than this crap. I won’t respond or debate to unintelligible garbage like this.

    I asked God to bless my exams today and i scored an A.
    –Don’t study or learn about any subject at all, then take a test on it. Pray to God to “bless” your exams that day, and see if you get an A. I’ll bet you fail completely. To be more specific, go take an evolution exam.

    I asked God for a sign that he loves me and i heard the most touching Christian song of my live.
    –A song is an “answered prayer” all of a sudden? So let me get this straight. God knew what you were going to pray for way before you prayed for it. He knew you would be listening to the radio at a certain time, and saw an opportunity to answer your prayer in a “mysterious” way. So he imposed on the free will of the DJ and made him play a certain song at a specific time because God knew your simple mind would take this song as a “supernatural answer” of an obscure prayer. And before that, God imposed on the free will of a producer to sign the writer of that song to a label because God knew that the writer would write the specific lyrics of a song that you, and only you, would take as a “sign” for a prayer you would ask long before the song was written, recorded, and put into mainstream radio. God imposed on the free will of 3 people just to get the song out there JUST for you; The producer that signed the artist on the label, the writer of the song, and finally, the free will of the DJ to play it a certain time. So basically, unless God did NOT impose on the free will of these people to play this “touching” song for you at a certain time after you made an obscure prayer, then it is by definition coincidence.
    This is also a “test” of God by asking him to show you that he loves you. This is like me praying for your God to show me that he loves me, and then me saying that because I didn’t die the day I asked God to show his love for me, then he answered that prayer. It’s completely ridiculous.

    I bumped into a friend and broke my arm but suddenly i cursed God for letting it happen !@#$%
    –Why would you curse your God for your own stupid mistake of not watching where you’re walking?

  • 4. Anti-Devil  |  July 15, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    Yawn*

  • 5. Anti-Devil  |  July 28, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    i hear this somewhere”If u laugh at god,he will laugh at u”

    If god ever laugh at tat person…i really pity him from the bottom of my heart..

    ….becuz he laughed at the most high and glorious being in the whole universe,god returned wat he did,he deserved it.

    And for those egoist who think they wannt judge god,Omg T_T no way man..no one has the right to judge humanity,Much less God

  • 6. Luke  |  July 28, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    Anti-Devil says:
    And for those egoist who think they wannt judge god,Omg T_T no way man..no one has the right to judge humanity,Much less God
    –To “Judge” is merely to form an opinion about through careful weighing of evidence and testing of premises and to determine or pronounce after inquiry and deliberation. It is not a right, nor it is a privilege. It’s something anyone can do whenever they want whether anyone else likes it or not. I’ll judge anyone or anything I want, and no one is going to stop me or anyone else that does it. No one is “off limits” to be judged. Grow up.

  • 7. Mindy  |  May 5, 2010 at 2:54 am

    God is love and Love does not burn any one for eternity. No one is in “hell” no one is in heaven (Job 34:14) (Ecclesiastes 9:5,6) (Acts 2:29,34). When Jesus comes for His own, they will then live on for eternity in Heaven (1 Thessalonian 4:13-18) Those who are remaining, will be consumed in hell fire. Sin will cease to exist. If sinners burn for eternity then that means that they are still alive and that sin still exists. God only promises everlasting life for the saved. Thus, the sinner is consumed, evil will cease to exist. It wouldn’t be just for God to allow someone to burn for eternity for their sins of a short life time. Think of the evil Hitler brought about and think of the sinner who cheated on his wife and never repented. Would it be fair to give them equal judgment? It is like the death sentence here in this country. We don’t give the death sentence to a teenager who was caught shoplifting.


What's New

Browse by Proof

Click on any of the links below to see the proof of the same number from GodIsImaginary.com. If the link leads you back to this page, it means that that proof hasn't been tackled yet on this page. Please check back often, as I will be updating this site as often as I can!

Copyright

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons United States License.

